EMPTY ME!!!

EMPTY ME!!!

Empty Me…Those words…What is it about those words that I hear in songs? Songs that wrench the soul, songs that are sung by people who really want God, songs that are and can only be sung by the heart and soul of a person. You have to really WANT God if you ask Him to empty you.

Empty Me…It means to empty someone of themselves. All the selfishness and pride, all the junk, anger, hurt, stubbornness and rebellion. This person is asking God to empty them of everything that is not God or Godly and fill them with more of Him. More of God.

“Holy fire burn away

my desire for anything

that is not of You and is of me

I want more of You and less of me….

Empty me…..empty me….

and fill…won’t you fill me

With You…with you!!

I want more…I want more…

I want more of You, Jesus!”

~Jeremy Camp~

 

“Empty me of the selfishness inside,

every vain ambition and the poison of my pride,

and any foolish thing my heart holds to…

Lord, empty me of me so I can be filled with You…

‘Cause everything is a lesser thing compared to You!”

~Chris Sligh~

 

Two songs, sung by two very different people…What they have in common? The King, God, who was, is and still IS above all. EMPTY ME!!!

You know sometimes I get to that place where my life is filled with too much of ME that I can’t see anyone else. I sometimes ask myself why that is, or I ask God. And what I find is that, on my own, I don’t have an answer. But when I start searching my heart through God there’s more of an answer than I really care to know or want to know. It gets kind of scary. We were all born with a natural tendency of certain things…It’s called human nature. One of them is selfishness. You see, when  babies are born the one thing they do is cry for attention. They want to be held, they want their milk, then want everything to be about them, all eyes on them. They crave attention of their parents and family. Which, of course, they should, they are babies. They NEED that attention. But when we grow up there is no need for that anymore. We are not babies; we can take care of ourselves and do things on our own. But sometimes, again, we get to that place where for some reason we lose sight of others and we look to ourselves again. We are hurt so we need others to comfort us. We get so busy with work, school, family and the thing we call life that we forget about God and maybe even forget about others and their needs when we are so wrapped up in our own little world. That’s why when I hear songs like “Empty Me” I just take a look at my life and where I’m at and also where I’m not. I start searching and going back to what I missed. There must be something I missed that got me back to this place of ME. God was trying to tell me something or do something and I missed it. AGAIN! I’ve been here before, this is not new to me. So what is it? You see…this is where…ME…being the imperfect creature that I am, start to analyze, maybe even over analyze my life. Some people may think of it as I’m being too hard on myself. But you know what, I’ve come to the conclusion that you can never be too hard on yourself. Because, if I was, I’d be in a completely different place right now. I used to be insecure but not anymore. So this is not me being insecure because I know what I stand for and WHO I stand for. That will never change. I know who I am in Christ. This is just me searching my heart and soul because right now I’m not happy with just being me and all into me. I’m most happy when I’m doing things for God and others. So somewhere I missed it. I know God is THE King, but is He MY King? He is my Savior, but have I allowed Him to become My Lord? It’s just a reality check. We all need that once in awhile. Especially Christians. The Bible even says:

~Examine yourselves as to whether you are in the faith. Test yourselves. Do you not know yourselves, that Jesus Christ is in you?–Unless you are disqualified. But I trust that you will know that we are not disqualified.~

(2 Corinthians 13:5)

I know that there are reasons for everything. And my reason for this one is that I want so much more of God. I want to be EMPTIED by Him. I want to be that singer that pours out my entire heart to God asking Him to empty all of me. Because if it’s all about me than I don’t want to live…I want to die. Now don’t get me wrong. I’m not talking about a physical death, or suicide. Let’s not twist my words. I’m talking about being dead to sin but alive in Christ Jesus. Because if it’s all about Him than death and life are only the beginning.

I end with this prayer to my God,

Dear Lord and Father, My God,

I’ve been here before. We both know it. You know my heart, my coming in and my going out. You know my every move. Nothing is hidden from you. I need you to search my heart, and my inner most being. My whole entire heart wants all of You but my flesh keeps resisting. I know that I can only do this through Christ who strengthens me. I know that in my weaknesses You are made strong. And Lord, I am so weak. There is nothing good about me…Compared to Your love, grace and infinite mercies. In Your presence I am nothing because You are above all and everything. God, My God, I need You. Empty me, Lord this day. Empty me of all my selfishness, empty me of all my own ability, thoughts and intents of the heart and fill me with all of You. Nothing more but You. Here I am, a daughter in the presence of a Holy and Righteous God, asking for Your forgiveness and needing Your grace. I am sorry for thinking too much about me and my own needs and forgetting about those souls around me. Help me to remember my 1st Love. God, You alone are…and always will be my 1st Love. There is none like You and no one can compare to You. As David says:

~As the deer pants for the water brooks,

So my soul pants for You, O God.~

(Psalms 42:1)

EMPTY ME, LORD!!!

Shake me of the things of this world. Give me more of You. “‘Cause I want more of You, Jesus!”

AMEN!!!

 

2 responses to “EMPTY ME!!!

  • btold

    You sound thirsty for the Word of God. I encourage you to continue to eat of the bread of Life and the scales continue to be removed from your eyes. It is a process. God Bless You.

    • Bornagainandfree

      Thank you…yes it definitely is a process. Sometimes I think am I ever going to get my Christianity right? Lol. But than I realize that it’s not in my own ability but it’s allowing God to permeate my very being. Continuing to dig in to the Word and thirst for it is only the beginning! He will enlarge my heart for more. Thanks again for taking the time to read my blog. God bless!

Leave a Reply

