A Silver-lining in my Valentine’s Day Saga <3

So the last blog I wrote “On Valentine’s Day” was a total ranting and raving about how more single and lonely I feel on Valentine’s Day. I compared myself to the likes of Jessica Biel in the movie “Valentine’s Day” with her psycho persona when it came to that “dreadful day”. Her “HATE-Valentine’s Day parties” because she was always alone that specific day came as a commonality to me. I feel the pain, I’ve been there. With her girlfriends around, taking their anger out with a bat on a candy filled pinata for all the men that have done them wrong, seemingly to “celebrate” their loneliness. Even than, for Jessica their was a silver-lining for her, even at her own “hate” party. The very handsome Jamie Foxx seemed to have her same thoughts on Valentine’s in mind which brought, even them, together.

So tells my tale…here I am sitting in the office at my work place, trying not to think of this day as any other day but ordinary. Though, in the back of mind all I kept thinking of was…”Wouldn’t it be nice to get some flowers, or a box of candy from a special someone.” As I was doing my work, I here a pull at the office door and I see a little man, no more than 3 feet tall, he had in his hands a bouquet of flowers, a heart-shaped box of “Hershey’s Pot of Gold Fine Confections Premium Collection” chocolates, and to top it off a HUGE heart-shaped balloon that sings “I Got You Babe”. My Valentine’s, from that moment, lit up. I open the door, and the little man with my mom, my brother and my sister in-law standing to the side, says in his extremely loud and high-pitched voice, “WILL YOU BE MY BALENTINE?” Yes…”Balentine”…not Valentine. I couldn’t help but cry…and there it was, my 5 year old nephew. Beautiful as he is, I was delighted, ecstatic, and he changed my view, if only for one day, what Valentine’s Day is really about… Love… not just for lover’s, husbands and wives…and most certainly not to drown your sorrows on all the different thoughts of singleness, but love for family and friends and more simply….LIFE!


So you see…even though my previous blog “On Valentine’s Day” was what made my sister in-law bring my nephew to me to change my mind about Valentine’s Day…the fact of the matter is that it did. So I still won’t put too much emphasis on this day because I still feel as if it is a bit over-rated, but I can have better thoughts on it and make it the best that I can and enjoy what’s left of it.

Thank you to my family, especially my nephew Jovani for helping me see and being that silver-lining for me…MY “BALENTINE”!!!

HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY ❤

i ❤ (heart) u!!!!

2 responses to “A Silver-lining in my Valentine’s Day Saga <3

  • kristinawebb

    This is so adorable! He looks like just about the sweetest thing ever.

    For a long time I was single every Valentine’s Day, so now that I’ve been in a relationship for a while, it actually takes the pressure off. We don’t worry about all the chocolate and balloons. We try to make time throughout the year to do sweet things for each other and enjoy each other’s company.

Leave a Reply

